We are a fully authorised test centre to carry out all LCV HCV ADR Testing.


The Background.

In March of 2013, the Road Safety Authority (RSA) took over control of all registered testing centres.
Under the RSA remit,
all commercial test centers were re-branded as Commercial Vehicle Roadworthiness Test Centres (CVRT).
This continuity of brand and a single body for control and monitoring of commercial tests and test centres,
sets a standard that Mc Ardles Tests Centre have championed from the outset.

All vehicles are required by law to be tested every twelve months, irrespective of age or type.


Mc Ardles test centre are authorised by the RSA
to carry out CVR tests LCV HCV ADR categories of vehicle.

LCV – Light Commercial Vehiclesvehicle testing

Described as : all small goods vehicles with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 3,500 kg or less

Examples :

  • Citroen Berlingo
  • Renault Kangoo
  • Peugeot Partner
  • Transit Connect


HCV – Heavy Commercial Vehiclescontact

The HCV test covers all other commercial vehicles including:
  • goods vehicles over 3,500 kg GVW
  • goods trailers over 3,500 kg GVW
  • buses with more than eight passenger seats
  • ambulances

Examples :

  • Mercedes Sprinter
  • Iveco
  • Daf
  • Volvo

ADR – Dangerous Goods Vehicles

The ADR test covers any vehicle which carries or transports dangerous goods.
These are required by law to meet certain detailed technical requirements.

Comments are closed.